Dear Jennifer Weiner…please be my friend (Book Review)

Dear Jennifer Weiner:

I love you. I love your books. I saw you on WWHL with Andy Cohen and….yep…LOVE. YOU.

I have read every one of your books. I know they aren’t rocket-science, but even for this picky reader, they never disappoint. And, lovely friend, The Next Best Thing was definitely your next best thing.

source: amazon.com

Ruth, our heroine, is easy to love. The story you create for her is both common and unique. She’s the kind of girl – like I imagine you to be, Jen (can I call you Jen?) – that you just want to befriend. She’s slightly broken and incredibly strong-willed, muddled with self-doubt, but not self-loathing and, above all else, smart, funny and kind.

In this latest of your fun, beach-tacular reads, you uncover the “sexiness” (yeah, right) of the television industry. And you don’t mince words. You discuss, without discussing, all that is wrong with our world today – the false pretence, the inauthenticity, the over-inflated egos and kill-your-own-mother-for-the-money rat race that is clearly defined as Hollywood.

But you know what I love most? The male characters you introduced this time around. They aren’t PERFECT…but they aren’t the guys you hate, either. Dave is the kind of guy you MARRY……and I want to be his friend as much as I want to be yours (yes, I know he’s fictional and you are famous, but whatever….)

So, Jen, what’s next? I feel like I know you (I don’t) and I want to know more. Please….can we just be friends?

Love,

your loyal reader: Litterachi

Rachael’s Grades

Writing:  A

Character Development: A+ (duh)

Plot: A

This entry was posted in beach reads, Book, Book Review, chick lit, friends, MUST READS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

