Chapter 25: Is this real life?

*Courtesy of Wanda Koch Photogrpahy*

I thought about starting this post with whatever you say when its been ages since you last went to confession, but since I don’t really get that, I’ll just appologize to you instead. Oh my goodness! I can’t even believe the week I’ve had.

First of all, I am a friggen YOGA TEACHER…can you believe that? when I started my yoga practice 4 years ago, I really just did it because the class fit with my schedule, I was unemployed and I was looking for something new to do – Oh, and because my arms were still going numb and the doctor thought it would help….but that’s a different story altogether. 

So, here I am, 4 years later and BAM! it has become such an integral part of my life. I crave it. I went from practicing ONE type of yoga twice-thrice weekly to embracing all sorts of yoga – even meditation!!!! – nearly every day. And, 6 months ago, for some unknown reason, the universe told me to sign up for teacher training…..so I did. 

What’s strangest is that, yes: my practice got stronger…..but moreover, I like myself so much more now. Ok, I liked myself just fine before, but judging by the friends I’ve made and new relationships I’ve built, I can tell that I’m a better, more stable person now than I ever was before. For that, I owe the crew shown above everything I have. 

So, let’s see – what else – I had a GREAT meeting with some folks on Monday; we threw a shower for two friends who are getting married late this year (yay for Dara and Heather!); two of my closest friends in Charlotte started teaching this week (Mitchy and Tater, you girls kicked some massive A$$; so proud!) and I….yes, me…..Litterachi…..begin teaching on THURSDAY.

OH, and I finished Slim to None – full review is coming – and am starting in on a new Neal Pollack book called Stretch. I go for my professional photoshoot with Wanda Koch today – which is bugging me out. I have to wear all white…..which should look simply mahvelous on this pasty, round body of mine…..but whatevs, I’m all good with it! 

While most of my week was good, I also learned that my cousin is off to Afghanastan – he’s a drone pilot and while I’m sure he’ll be fine – I worry. I hate it, but he’s a big boy and a smart kid and this is his JOB. Protecting our freedoms. I will keep telling myself all this until he returns. 

So, as we all go into this Memorial Day weekend (btw, let’s all remember and thank our veterans), I – for one – will take a few deep breaths, slow my ass down and enjoy the summer we are about to have. I hope you’ll do the same 🙂

This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chapter 25: Is this real life?

  1. Hi fellow yogi,

    Do you have a story of healing or transformation through yoga that you’d like to share with the world? The Yoga Diaries is now accepting submissions and we’d love to hear stories from all over the world!

    http://theyogadiaries.net/

    Please spread the word and help us to spread the light.

    Namaste,
    The Yoga Diaries

Leave a Reply

