“Play the Ball Where the Monkey Drops It” – Book Review: Slim to None

‘Play the ball where the monkey drops it’ Just take it as it comes. it is what it is. You do what you have to in order to get by. Don’t go getting your panties in a wad. Stop trying to orchestrate your life. Let life happen to you.

Slim to None, page 131

You know I love a book when I write about it before even finishing it! Not only do I love this book because of the aforementioned quote – yes, you heard me – I LOVE THIS QUOTE; but I also am loving the fact that, following nearly every chapter, there is a recipe! How AMAZING is that?

Abbie Jennings, the heroine of this story, is one of the most notable food critics in New York City. She’s also, by her own definition, ZAFTIG. Until ‘recently’, she was able to slip relatively unnoticed into to restaurants – enjoy the meal as the rest of us peons do, and slip out to write her review. But, her world comes crashing down when she becomes recognizable.

I guess its hard not to be recognizable when you are obese? My instinct tells me one of two things happens, either you: blend in to the rest of the landscape or you stand out like a sore thumb. As a food critic, you hope for the former – but no….not Abby……she’s recognized.

She’s given an ultimatum: lose weight or lose the job. While, yes, I understand her editors point – I still find that atrocious. That said, the story wouldn’t be the story without it.

In Slim to None (by Jenny Gardner), we follow Abbie through her weight-loss journey; feeling her struggle to shed the baggage (both by weight and by emotions) she has been carrying around with her for decades.

I guess this book truly resonated with me because, as someone who “lives to eat” rather than “eats to live” (as Abbie describes in her first editorial article in the book), my relationship with food is….well……totally unhealthy. I love food. I love making food. I love feeding people…..I think, in a way, I’m not so different than our dear Abbie.

True, I also love working out. I love yoga, long walks off short piers with good friends, running, tennis and a slew of other activities……but mostly I love those things because they afford me an ability to eat what I want….until recently.

I haven’t finished the book, but I plan to be done next week – after teacher training ends. So, until then, I’ll leave you with one of Abbie’s recipes! Oh, and this juicy little bit of personal news (of which I’m very proud): I have lost 6 lbs to date….even with a beach-weekend slip up! AAAAAAND…..I’m scheduled to teach THREE (yes 3!!!!) yoga classes the weekend of June 16th! woohoo!!!!!!!

GREEK CHICKEN SHISH KEBABS

This entry was posted in Book, Book Review, exercise, Food, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Play the Ball Where the Monkey Drops It” – Book Review: Slim to None

  1. Pingback: Chapter 25: Is this real life? | litterachi

Leave a Reply

