“Home is a shelter from storms – all sorts of storms.”(William J. Bennett) – Book Review: Girlchild by Tupelo Hassman

There are a lot of words and phrases that truly have so many meanings – yet we lock them into one:

  • Home: where you live
  • Adult: someone who’s reached an age of maturity (18 in our culture, 13 in others)
  • Parent: someone who creates and cares for a child
  • Child: offspring under the age of aforementioned maturity
  • Trailer Park: where trash lives (ok, maybe not, but still)

However, reading this intense new novel Girlchild by Tupelo Hassman, I feel that all definitions I’ve previously known are nixed, null, void and meaningless. I also find myself questioning my own definitions of the words listed above…..

Rory Dawn (R.D.) is the antithesis of my definition of TPT (Trailer Park Trash) – yet, if you were to meet her on any given day, you’d probably never know that. A smart, percocious little girl who’s been dealt a shitty hand, R.D.’s story is one that many of us chose to ignore. Growing up in a trailer park, R.D. is determined to not become TPT. She is the kind of girl you just want to rescue and her tales are disturbing.

The story portion of the book is well-written. However, and while I totally understand Hassman’s intention, the other vehicles Hassman uses to convey the tale are “meh”. I had the most trouble with the fake equations and the letters. I didn’t even fully understand their value until the very end, and even then, didn’t care much for them.

I was most disturbed, however, by the ending – I just didn’t get it. And I re-read it twice. I even ‘thumbed’ back to see if I missed something. Alas, no…..I am either just stupid (highly unlikely…..I know I’m not) or I just didn’t get it and thereby, it was stupid? hmmmmmmm

Bottom line: my definition of this book is “meh” – the kind of book you want to read when you’ve read most everything else that is decent in your eReader or on your bookshelf and you don’t want to dig around for something new.

Rachael’s Grades:

Writing: B-

Character Development: B+

Plot: B

 

This entry was posted in Book Review, Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Home is a shelter from storms – all sorts of storms.”(William J. Bennett) – Book Review: Girlchild by Tupelo Hassman

  1. Pingback: Jews played basketball? at an average height of 5’8???? NO WAY! – Book Review: Jewball | litterachi

Leave a Reply

