Chapter 12: Biting off more than I can Chew?

courtesy of: mugginglace.tumblr.com

Isn’t it strange that sometimes you get exactly what you asked for? Yeah, and if you didn’t pick up on the sarcasm….it was there!

We finished our third weekend of Yoga Teacher Training and, like the eager beaver I am…..I put a message out on Facebook asking for volunteers… “guinea pigs” I called them …. to be students as I practice teaching a class or two.

Did I really want this? HELLS YEAH!

And then, when I got no less than a dozen responses, I began to freak out. That nagging “who do you think you are, teaching yoga?” voice came into my head. You know the one – the one that tells you “you aren’t good enough”, “no one will like you”, “you have NO IDEA WHAT YOU ARE DOING!” and wakes you from a sound sleep where you are peacefully dreaming about how your body will (one day) bend and flow? Yeah, so that is what my last few days have been like.

The battle of “can you really do this” and “damn, girl, you are awesome enough to fill a room at the largest studio on earth” – the question is, which will I allow to win?

Never one to shy away from a challenge, I’m leaning towards the second voice only to find

myself making excuses……we don’t have room at home, I don’t know any real sequencing yet, I don’t have time…… Which, ultimately, is why I put that “call for help” out on Facebook, right?

That’s the cool thing about such a meddling cyber-tool: it is going to hold me accountable.

Once people started responding – friends offering up their homes or workplaces, friends of friends offering to be guinea pigs, etc. – I had no more excuses. Not only did I learn that people will come (think Field of Dreams), but they will also help me plan and prepare!

Now the only question I really have is what music (if any) will I play?

Namaste friends!

This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

