Chapter 10: Momentum is Just Like Your House Keys…..

LESSON TO SELF: once you start something, don’t stop!

mo·men·tum

force or speed of movement; impetus, as of a physical object or course of events: The car gained momentum going downhill. Her career lost momentum after two unsuccessful films.

 

When we moved here nearly 12 months ago (yes, it will be our anniversary on the 29th! can you believe?), I decided that I was going to learn to love running…..outdoors…..

So, I started running every day – mainly because it was nice outside, and also because it ate up some of my otherwise mind-numbingly boring days. It became an appointment I “looked forward to” – or rather, looked forward to crossing off my list of things to do – kinda like cleaning the bathrooms: you do them first because they typically suck more than cleaning the rest of your house, right?

Anyway, I won’t say I got GOOD at running, nor will I say that I liked it much, but I did it. I started running longer and longer runs – never more than 5 miles (and even then, the 5 were not intentional – I got LOST in my new neighborhood!) – and while I won’t pretend to have been good at it, I was OK. More importantly, I was getting better at it and therefore, enjoying it MORE. And, above all else, I was maintaining my weight and THAT I LOVED. I LOVED IT. Did I say that I LOVED IT? Yeah, well, I did.

Momentum was helpful there. I had started to build it and I was dedicated to making sure I didn’t lose it. Until, that is, I started working both jobs and it got hot and humid here. I got allergies; my nose snotted so much I couldn’t even pretend to look dignified running. I was coughing from the pollen and found excuses (time, energy, allergies, etc.) to NOT RUN.

Needless to say, I lost momentum. And today, not having run in roughly 2 months(?), I ran….or intended to. My back, however, had other plans for me. I set out on a 2.25 mile run – the easy route from earlier days – and about .5 miles in, wah wah wah (insert Charlie Brown or other cartoon music) I experienced such searing pain in my back that I almost threw up.

Where am I going with this? Oh, that’s easy – c’mon guys….the point is that when you start to build momentum, use it. Last week, I wrote about Malcolm Gladwell’s book Outliers, and discussed the role that opportunity plays in success – momentum is no different. When you have momentum, whether its true of false courage due to other successes – use them. They are now a strength – even if before it was only perception. Perception is reality.

MUST. REMEMBER. AT. ALL. COSTS.

So back to my story – I’ve had a shitty few weeks. Truly, honestly, SHITTY. Just not good. I told a friend that I blame teacher training – I likened it to the phlegm that comes up after you have a bad head cold…..you know the kind I’m talking about…the yellowish green kind that hurts to hock? yeah, anyway…..

I think that like good momentum, there is such thing as bad momentum. My bad week just snowballed – ending this morning with me “losing” my keys at CVS on my way to work. And this pain in my back, in my opinion (I’m entitled…this is my blog, right?), was the reminder that with bad momentum, sometimes its best to just STOP, DROP and ROLL.

So today, with that in mind, as I leave for my favorite yoga class with some of my favorite people in the world (yes, you got it right – Sweet Tater, Adam, Johnna, Mitch and special guest appearance, Ann!), I’ve got to remember that tonight is about STOPPING, DROPPING and ROLLING – and then, when I get off my mat, knowing that I can again build momentum – good momentum, strong momentum, the kind of momentum I can be proud of.

P.S. (for the record) I didn’t actually lose my keys – I put them in a different pocket in my purse – one I forgot I had – and found them only AFTER I called David to drive the other set to me….all of 5 minutes from the office…..causing me to frazzle and frustrate…..

This entry was posted in Book, Book Review, exercise, Family, Home, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

