Year In “Book Review” – What I read in 2011

2011 Litterachi Award for BEST BOOK: Night Circus, by Erin Morganstern

I feel like a broken record when I say this, but, can you believe it’s already year-end? I know I won’t finish my latest book in time to review it for you, nor have I even gotten far enough to tell you anything – been too busy with holiday parties, baking and getting ready for our week-long trip to see my in-laws in Florida.

However, I can give you a quick synopsis of what I read this year  – and if it was memorable or one I recommend, I’ll give you a quick and dirty review!! For ease: Green = GO! / Red = STOP! / Pink = Up to You?

Oh, and strewn throughout the year (can’t recall when or why), I also read all of the Sookie Stackhouse novels (if you can call them novels) 🙂

January

While not a favorite, it was good – a little predictable, but good.

Great read – interesting concept and one I knew nothing about previously. Fast read and really enjoyable.

got stuck 10% into the book and couldn’t finish – this is definitely a FAIL on my reading scale

February

this one was OK,, nothing great –I think I read it because it was FREE.

Almost couldn’t finish this – it was really slow and totally not enjoyable – this is definitely a FAIL on my reading scale

 

March

This one was about some sisters who’s lives mimicked various Shakespearean characters. It was good, but not necessarily a MUST READ

I enjoyed this one – though it wasn’t as quick as I’d have hoped it to be.

I think I liked this, though I found it a bit slow.

April

For being about MEMORY, I can’t recall this at all!

I think I liked this….not sure why, or what it was about, but I remember liking it.

don’t remember much here, but know I didn’t like this book…..

 

May

Not as funny as I hoped it would be, but a good read nonetheless. I love Tina Fey and think she’s brilliant, so in that capacity, it was good

if you like Non-Fiction, this is a FASCINATING read. The story paints a picture we don’t often see from WWII – certainly one with which I was unfamiliar.

June

good, easy read.

July

I love Lisa See – all of her books are incredibly well-written and keep me turning pages all night! This book, like all her others, did not disappoint!

I’d read other Geraldine Brooks books, like “People of the Book” and “March” – both of which I liked better than this one. Her writing, though, is clean and crisp and she keeps you engaged. I just didn’t love the subject matter all that much.

August

I love Kristen Hannah – all of her books are incredibly well-written and keep me turning pages all night! This book, like all her others, did not disappoint!

I hated this book – I finished it, but it was awful. That said, whenever a dog is involved, I read and I cry.

I enjoyed this one – made me cry a little but I liked it.

September

I always enjoy a Jennifer Weiner book – while not exactly literature, it is always a great beach read and – like all her others – this does not disappoint.

I enjoyed this one – though the end was a bit predictable.

I enjoyed this one – it was easy and well-written. The Characters were developed and fun to imagine.

 

October

I hated this book – I finished it and then told you all about how I didn’t like it. I don’t like Alice Hoffman’s books. PERIOD.

I love Phillipa Gregory – all of her books – especially the Cousins’ War books!

I hated this book – I finished it and cried with joy when I did….slow, boring, not worth reading.

November

I hated this book – I couldn’t even finish it….slow, boring, characters are chaotic and not well-developed and not worth reading at all!

BEST BOOK I’VE READ THIS YEAR!!!!! ONE OF THE BEST I’VE EVER READ – CAN’T WAIT FOR HER NEXT ONE!

On the Shelf for December/January 2012:

This entry was posted in Book, Book Review, Holidays, Home, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

