Chapter 7: Thank you for Being a Friend

golden girls  Thank you for being a friend.
Travel down the road and back again.
Your heart is true, you’re a pal and a confidant.
And if you threw a party,
invited everyone you knew.
You would see the biggest gift would be from me
and the card attached would say,
thank you for being a friend.

With the holidays upon us, the hustle-bustle of holiday parties and the fatty, calorie-filled feasts are enough to drive me to drink. Truly, I wonder how I can even stay awake……

OK, it’s not THAT busy, or fatty, but still – you catch my drift. However, it hasn’t always been like this.

Since graduating college, I have probably been invited to a total of 5 Hannukah parties and maybe, MAYBE, a half-dozen Christmas parties….not including my work holiday parties! And yet, upon moving to Charlotte, we’ve been invited to 4….count’em 1 – 2 – 3 – 4 Hannukah parties! and not just ME, but WE! Which got me thinking: how on earth have I made such amazing friends in such a short time? and have I thanked them for being my friend?

Our amazing hostesss - Tamar (and Judah), Julie (and Elana) and Jen!

Yesterday, we kicked off the Jew-fests (and, yes, I can say this: I’m Jewish) with a party at my dear friend Tamar’s to celebrate the Festival of Lights with a group of gal-pals that have been simply AH-MAZING!

 

 

the center of all Jewish functions - FOOD!

 The group, officially un-officially called the Monday Night Supper Club, is comprised of 13 wonderful women – many new to Charlotte, most for work or husbands or both. And, rather than our typical Monday night supper (hence the name), we decided to invite the spouses and kids and dogs to all congregate at Tamar’s house with her wonderful husband and delicious little boy! It was a BLAST and I know I’m not alone in saying so. One of the girls, Glenda, actually parroted my thoughts of how nice it is to have a group of gal-pals….and how hard it typically is to even find them at this stage of our lives.

Dara, Jonah, Glenda and HEather

I realized, when playing with some of my new friends, that while my BFFs from High School, College and Chicago are wonderful, they aren’t HERE. And how fortunate I am to have met such a wonderful group. In fact, 2 of the three other party invitations we received were from  other girls in the group!

So, right here and now, I just want to thank my lucky stars for such amazing gifts of friendship. It’s more than I could ask for in such a short time and, probably more than I deserve.

This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

