Chapter 4: Tuesday Curiosity: Trunk or Treat? Halloween in Charlotte

Last night was Halloween and I’m still not sure how this year has passed by so quickly!!!!!!!!!!

We’ve officially lived here for NINE months … can you believe? And truth be told, it’s starting to feel like home. We’ve got great friends and I love my job…..we’re somewhat settled into our rental home (or as settled as I want to be for now) and we’re not leaving.

The thing is, there are still some wierdnesses….things I JUST. DON’T. GET. For instance – last night was Halloween; and while I was totally unprepared with a costume (one of the perils of working 2 jobs), we did get our first trick’or’treater! Graciously, his mom let me take a picture of him…..so cute!DSCN0176

But what really got me curious – and maybe this is just a Charotte thing? is that I saw signs for “Trunk or Treat” all over town…..

and I simply didn’t get it. I questioned: “is it a trunk show?” but then thought – why on earth would it be a trunk show? that is weird…..until I drove home last night from work…..and saw this……

DSCN0175

Ok, so maybe I’m just a big-city girl…..but here’s my big issue: WHY ARE YOU TEACHING YOUR KIDS TO GO UP TO STRANGERS’ CARS AND TAKE CANDY????????? ISN’T THAT THE DEFINITION OF STRANGER DANGER?!? 

Even the name – it sounds like you either get a treat or you get thrown in the trunk….right? or am I crazy? (probably both…..)

I mean, honestly, when I was a kid – if someone asked you to come near their TRUNK (of all places in the car) – even if it IS  on church grounds – and take candy or food or a puppy, you ran away and yelled “Stranger! Stranger! Stranger!”

It’s times like these that I genuinely question if I will ever truly fit in down here……

Until then, my kids will definitely NOT be “Trunk or Treating”……

Now, go brush your teeth or they’ll rot. Happy belated Halloween!

This entry was posted in Family, Holidays, Home, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chapter 4: Tuesday Curiosity: Trunk or Treat? Halloween in Charlotte

  1. Kamaile says:

    I wondered what that was when I saw it at a church here in Dallas. That is the strangest thing now that i know what it is,

Leave a Reply

