Chapter 3: Birthdays and Hurricanes and Books – Oh My!

So, for those who might not know, this weekend was my birthday – in fact, it was the 10th anniversary of my 23rd birthday – and it was great! My mom came to visit; and even though the entire North Carolina coast was battered with horrid storms and winds from Hurricane Irene – we lucky duckies in Charlotte had a BEAUTIFUL weekend!

And, while we didn’t hit the theaters for a movie, we did end up watching a movie at home – and, yes, it was a movie based on a book that I’d read….. The Lovely Bones, by Alice Sebold ( click thru to Amazon.com)

The Lovely Bones art

I also am very pleased to announce that I’m down to two more books in the Sookie Stackhouse series; I’m steadily making my way through Dead and Gone (Click thru to Amazon.com)

Dead and Gone 

I’m finding myself getting annoyed at all the references to the previous story line – I understand that Charlaine wants to make sure all readers can enjoy her creative vision, but who REALLY starts a 10 or 11 book series with book 9?!? That’s like starting a movie 3/4 of the way thru and asking the people next to you “what happened in the first 60 minutes?” or jumping into a round of golf on the 13th hole and asking the other players to “hang tight – I just need to play these other 12 first, ok?” But, still, I read on!

It’s also interesting to compare them to the television series on HBO (True Blood on HBO). The shock-value never ceases? The “romantic” scenes get steamier and far more involved and the main plot seems to diverge further and further from Harris’ original intention. But still, I watch-on!

Here’s the rub: I don’t particularly find these books to be all that intellectually stimulating, however, one line in Chapter 4 stuck with me and made  me realize why I do enjoy them. Sookie’s having trouble sleeping, starts cataloging her romantic history and asks herself (or us, the readers):

Don’t you just hate nights like that, when you think over every mistake you’ve made, every hurt you’ve received, every bit of meanness you’ve dealt out?

I find myself doing that a lot – and I know many of you do, too. What we really need is to think about these things when we are busy – not bored in bed – because then, when we decide to change our ways – WE ACTUALLY DO! The thought can lead to resolution – rather than a night of tossing and turning.

Anywho…..that was my weekend – how was yours?

This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chapter 3: Birthdays and Hurricanes and Books – Oh My!

  1. Sonya says:

    Did you enjoy the movie of The Lovely Bones? I read the book and loved it, but I couldn’t bring myself to see the movie. I didn’t want it to change what I had pictured in my head, if that makes sense. Was it a hard movie to watch? As for the True Blood books, I love them, but purely as the steamy fluff that they are. LOL! I do like how the HBO series has changed many things, kept characters alive that died in the books, etc. I feel like I can watch the show and still be surprised, even though I have read all of the books.

    • Rachael says:

      I did like the movie – i think they did a good job with it. I read the book FOREVER ago! I don’t know if I had JUST read the book, if I would like the movie though? if its on TV again, watch it! (oh, and thanks for the comment! I will definitely miss you when you leave!) R

Leave a Reply

