Chapter 2: Let’s go read a book?

So, I’m very troubled. While true, David doesn’t like seeing movies in the theaters, my mom is coming to visit this weekend for my birthday. It is probably going to rain and, in addition to our love for books, we both love a good movie.

Herein lies the problem: she might suggest we go see Sarah’s Key. It’s not that I don’t want to see it – it’s just that once I’ve read a book, I just can’t enjoy the movie. I find that I constantly look for where the movie diverges from the book and – especially when I enjoyed the book – if there is a slight difference, I feel empty leaving the theater.

Ok, maybe not physically empty – I have definitely downed a box of gummies or Swedish Fish and, most likely, a soda – but my wallet and my heart are devoid of wealth.

Sarah's Key

If you haven’t read this incredible tale (nor heard about the movie) Sarah’s Key was by-far, one of THE BEST BOOKS I’ve read in a LONG time. Many a book has been written about the Holocaust, but Tatiana de Rosnay’s account of the culpability of not only the Nazi’s but also the French citizens, is riveting. She follows the trail of Sarah, a 10-year-old French Jew who (along with her family) is arrested in the Vel’ d’Hiv’ roundup. Believing she will return in a few hours, she locks her brother in a cupboard for safety – and from there the story begins.

I think I read this book in less than a week – it was so good, I found myself bringing it into the restroom for “fake potty breaks” so that I could read in peace at the office! If you are looking for read that grabs you from the first sentence, this is it!

Hence my dilemma – do I ruin that perfect book with the movie? Or will the movie enhance it?


P.S. – a few more 2011 movies that are based on truly enjoyable books include:

  • The Help
  • One Day
  • I Don’t Know How She Does It
  • The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
This entry was posted in Book, Home, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chapter 2: Let’s go read a book?

  1. Pingback: A not so welcoming-back Book Review: Deadlocked | litterachi

Leave a Reply

